We Gotta Problem

Hello my best buds,

As some of you have already brought to my attention, we’ve got a slight problem over on FFN, specifically in the TB/SVM section.  Apparently, a sad little crusader has decided that it’s her/his job to clean up FFN of all the smuttiness therein.  On the face of it, I’d usually laugh my ass off.  FFN currently hosts tens of thousands of smutty stories, many of which are very dear to our hearts.

But, they’ve opened an account as of November 21st and have started naming names, with particular hatred aimed at me.  I don’t know if we’re dealing with a super-prude, or a Bible thumper, or just someone who has no talent of their own and tears down those that do, but no excuse is viable.

My worry is that if this person succeeds we’ll lose many of the wonderful stories that brought us here in the first place.  I know many of us have wandered away to WordPress and the like, but FFN will always hold a special place in my heart because it’s where I met all of you.

And most importantly of all-  Fuck her.  Or him.  No one is simply allowed to create an account for explicit purpose of deleting mass stories that they’ve never even read.  To them, it’s the sex itself, not the writing or tone, that’s unacceptable.  And they’re on a mission to police what everyone else enjoys.  That violates everything we as writers and readers stand for.  It’s disgusting.  It’s Nazi-ish and Communist China.  No one controls my information and no one tells me to conform to their ideals.  I’d rather they delete my page from existence than edit one single fucking scene about fucking.

So, I’d like to suggest we all PM this person and let them know how we feel about their censorship efforts in our realm.  Let them know how much you enjoy being dictated to.  Let them know, above all, how you feel about deleting what you read.

https://www.fanfiction.net/u/7306876/NO-MA-ALLOWED

Love and pleasant fucking to you all,

Heather

**Update 9 hours later**  It looks like she’s turned her PM off.  This person who’s raining down their unsolicited opinion has blocked everyone’s unsolicited opinion about their behavior.  Try not to gag on the irony. 

50 comments on “We Gotta Problem

  1. ugh! the morality police on FFN is on the prowl again. it’s quite simple. you don’t like MA stories, don’t read it. how hard is that. bunch of nazis, the lot. in my opinion….your stories, your rules. 😉

    • Punished Angel says:

      I keep trying to figure out how to review or PM the “Communist Party”on FFN. Will someone please help me? I cannot stand for censorship of this magnitude. Even my parents,a Mormon and a Catholic, believe in literature in all forms.

  2. ericluver says:

    This is what I sent her:

    You think you’d have something better to do with your life than play smut nazi! If you don’t like sex scenes, then don’t read them. We have a right to read anything we choose. There’s an M rating for a reason. We expect sex scenes if a story has an M rating! We have a right to CHOOSE to read it.
    Get a life and leave the wonderful authors, who provide hours of free entertainment, alone!
    It’s really simple: If you don’t like it, don’t read

    So there! 😝😝😝
    Ok, so I didn’t add that last bit, but you get the gist. Things like this annoy me so much. I hope more people send her reviews like the few I’ve already seen!

    • ericluver says:

      Just got a reply and basically she/he just reiterated that FF only has an M rating and that eventually all the MA rating stories would be gone. “It’s only a matter of time”.
      I felt like being snarky back and saying something like “isn’t it great that there are other, more adult, sites that are grown up enough to accept a little smut!”
      But I didn’t! *sigh* People like that won’t listen anyway…

      • ericluver says:

        Oh and other than PMs there’s no way to review that I could find!

      • ficlit78 says:

        You have to laugh, really. Anyone who think they’ll rid FFN of smut is delusional. 80% of that site’s traffic will disappear if that happened. The webmaster isn’t stupid. That’s why they don’t enforce it very well. It’s like booze in a paper bag. Yeah, we all know it’s booze, but now we can pretend it’s apple juice.

  3. jade012 says:

    When I saw the subject on the email my 1st thought was “oh, damn, Fic!” Like I’m in call of duty or something. LMAO I do have fond memories of that place. I’m on it! “I do not consent!”

  4. TMart says:

    Thank you for the heads up. I really don’t understand how some people have so much time to be morons in this fashion. Don’t they have better things to do…like read M fanfiction instead? LOL But anyways, I thought I’d leave this person a message…

    If you don’t like a story, for whatever reason, don’t read it. If I like a story, I WILL read it. Please do not tell ME what I can and cannot read based on your self-righteousness.

    If you can’t handle a mature theme, then I suggest you read K stories or leave this PUBLIC website all together.

    As an adult, I prefer to read stories that reflect adult themes. Sex is one of them. I’m not embarrassed to talk about sex, to have it and enjoy it, or to read about it.

    I don’t know what has happened in your life to make yourself be placed on this ridiculous high horse and to be so judgmental to a mass of people on a PUBLIC fiction website, or why you need attention in whatever capacity, but this just makes you look sad and idiotic.

    If you want to really help people…volunteer at a food bank, a homeless shelter or at a children’s hospital. Those are real issues. Caring about whether I read about sex is ridiculous.

    I really hope you re-evaluate yourself and think before you type.

    Have a nice day.

  5. ashmo2000 says:

    Seriously? Says a helluva lot about this person than any of the writers. If you don’t like something, move on. None of the stories start off with MA material, so the story was enjoyed up to a certain point, so…. All stories have a visible rating, why read after seeing said rating? Color me confused🙅

    • TMart says:

      I sent this person a PM. This was their reply, which doesn’t make any sense.

      This site has purged MA stories before and it will happen again. I have no problem with MA as long as it is NOT on this site. MA IS NOT ALLOWED ON what part of that do you not understand? As an “adult” you should know how to follow rules.

      So they’ll read smut, just as long as it isn’t on FF. Alrighty then.

  6. ericluver says:

    I was going to send an email to “the powers that be” of FF complaining about the misuse/abuse of an account but I’m concerned that could just draw attention to the stories/writers that she/he/it has highlighted. What do you think?

  7. Meridian says:

    Has this prudish little shit not read SVM or watched TB??? Good grief. I hope the day comes when I have so incredibly little to do that I can go on sad little morality crusades, although by that time I’d probably rather nap. I guess it’s too much to expect these useless little whiny asses to figure out how to use that little “x” at the top right of their screens if they run into something they don’t like, but I guess they’d rather bitch instead. I blame a lot of this on FF’s inability to figure out how to implement an age-verification click-through and reinstate the MA option. If they did that, then these wanna-be nuns wouldn’t have a Bible to stand on, much less thump.

  8. I can’t send a PM – has she turned it off? What am I missing?

    M

  9. msbuffy says:

    Well, hell. Seems the little thumper hasn’t been reading her Bible cause there’s plenty of fucking going on in the Good Book, except they call it ‘begattin.’ I don’t believe one person is going to cause the loss of all these stories on the site simply because of the First Amendment as it stands today, yesterday, and it’s going to be that way tomorrow. She’s specifically targeting these stories, and has been for only ONE day. Rather than bombard this moron, I’d contact the admins. at FF.net regarding her harassment of others. This is one person harassing many others. To in turn have many in our fandom begin harassing her only makes us look bad and appear to be bullies. Let those in charge at FF.net take care of their problem. They don’t know that it’s a problem if they’re uninformed. I’m not concerned at all about the stories that this person is commenting on; there doesn’t seem to be any differentiation other than the fact that there are scenes with sex in them. If the admins. had a problem with these stories, they would have been pulled them already. What we’re dealing with is either an obvious attention seeker, or a mentally ill person. Two of my writers have been hit by her already. We’re contacting the admins. NoMAAllowed is a gnat, annoying, but easily squashed.

    • ericluver says:

      I agree. I think approaching the admins of FF.net is the best way to go, especially as she/he seems to have disabled her reviews and PM settings. The few “reviews” I saw weren’t complimentary.
      I think the way to go is like TMart above –
      “I sent the admins an email but used the view point that this person or persons where attempting to promote a hostile and hateful environment by singling out specific authors who right M FF.”

      • Meridian says:

        I agree especially considering how this maladjusted little pos seems so “concerned” about the rules yet here s/he is creating an account simply to harass other writers…which I’m pretty sure is…against the rules. Talk about cherry-picking!

      • msbuffy says:

        I sent them an email as well citing the same, but I also used their Terms of Membership & User Agreement to highlight where this member is not abiding by such, and by all appearances joined for that reason and for the specific purpose to threaten and harass writers with stories containing mature content. I copied the threats and profile where the member indicated the stories/writers already threatened and harassed and promised more. I reminded the FF Admins that some of these stories had been on the site for up to and over 6 years, and that some of these writers had left FF.net long ago. My final words to them were that this person should be banned from their site if for nothing else than not being truthful when claiming to agree to the membership terms.
        Given that no one else seems to have heard anything, perhaps this person’s moved on to another fandom?

  10. jules3677 says:

    She/he has changed their profile so you can’t PM her. So I put a tweet to FanFictionPress asking if this is allowed. Gave the author name and ID number. If everyone else wants to do the same thing and place the pressure on the Administration, let’s see what happens. 🙂 Man, don’t you just hate tiny minds!!!!!

  11. jules3677 says:

    Reblogged this on jules3677 and commented:
    Another tiny mind wants to rule the world! Let’s protest. Tweet FanfictionPress with your objection.

  12. Reblogged this on FairyTaleAmber and commented:
    Fan-fucking-tastic! I’m sure most of you have heard about this hater but if you haven’t here is a little preview. She sucks hard! Upside, if there is one. Check out a new-to-you-author who propbably has some sweet NC-17 rated work!

  13. How the hell does a reader that’s been registered for five minutes get to dictate to FF that a story should be removed? What sort of monkeys do they have running the show that they take these people seriously. Do they not see the huge ratings these stories have?

  14. Jackiedm69 says:

    Oh dear Lord!
    I can’t believe how this shit is happening all over again!
    I tried to send a message to this person but I failed. ..
    What is going on?
    Jackie69

  15. Jfozz says:

    I went to her bio and noticed she had 1 ‘author’ favorited with exactly the same agenda. Her favorite author is Libby Putney and I PM’d her to thank them, in the spirit of Thanksgiving, for the lovely list of authors to read. Being a Puritan holiday, it seemed appropriate (even if I’m not from the US). I’ve also followed them both so I can get more reading material thanks to their crusade against free speech.
    Blessing

  16. summerame says:

    I think that her agenda is hilarious. I also think that she seems to have nothing to do but go out and read these stories that offend her and suggest to the world that others shouldn’t read them. Doesn’t she know that when you put a list out like this that others will want to read the stories just to see what she is implying. I think the traffic for these authors will increase.
    I’m sorry this is happening. Its okay to have an opinion about what you like and don’t like but stating for the world that everyone else should share that opinion is wrong. Its what makes us us. We are not all the same. I hope that this person wakes up and sees that there is more to life than doing this stupid thing that she is doing. Maybe write stories of her own in the world that she seems to be obsessed over and write them with a not so adult topic.
    I’m babbling now. But I too wanted to say, in all of this, that I love all the stories that have the characters we all love in them and hope that the authors know that we will continue to support them.

  17. Magpie says:

    Oh boy.
    I haven’t read all the comments here, just found out about this.

    Um. I know this is not going to be a popular opinion. But.

    We don’t own fanfiction.net. The people who do are very clear in the terms of service when you sign up that MA stories are not allowed.

    Fanfiction has its problems and its advantages. One of those is that it’s a big, popular site. Another is that it’s free for us writers to post on, and free for us readers to read because it takes advertising. And I believe that advertising (that pays for the site remember) is the problem when it comes to MA stories. I don’t know whether the advertisers have specified they don’t want to support a site with MA stories, or if it’s the case, as I’ve seen discussed online, that because money is changing hands the site could run foul of obscenity laws in the US for MA stories.

    Whatever the reason, bottom line is simple. Fanfiction has a perfect right to decide the rules for their site. We do not have a right to demand that they must publish what any of us want. They are providing a service for fans for free, we are in their house.

    Their site, their rules.

    Unfortunately, they are terrible at policing the site and their guidelines on the boundary between M/MA are vague and up for debate. But, let’s be honest, a lot of SVM/TB is probably over the line. Even my fairly tame fics maybe.

    I would advise anyone who thinks their stories are at risk, who hasn’t already migrated to wordpress or elsewhere, to back up all their fics, and maybe sign up somewhere like AO3 as an alternative in case.

    Also, this seems to be one person acting on their own, and I really don’t like the idea of lots of people contacting them and, well, ‘yelling’.

    What they’re doing is not nice, or fair. But we don’t have to stoop to their level.

    • ficlit78 says:

      I don’t disagree that we’re technically breaking the rules, but at the same time, so are 100k other stories on their site. And I highly doubt every last advertiser stipulated that no filth shall dirty the pages on whence they sit. Not to mention that if FFN ever DID clean up their site of MA content, 80% of their traffic would disappear.
      You’re right, we shouldn’t. At the same time, fuck this little person who thinks they can police in FFN’s name.

      • Magpie says:

        I agree, it’s a bit ridiculous given the amount of stuff on FF that breaks the rules, but those are the rules and there’s not much we can do about it.

        I hope all the writers on the list know they’re being targetted. I don’t think FF are particularly quick about responding, but they do delete without warning so it pays to be prepared for that.

        And FF decides what to delete, not the person reporting, so it may well come to nothing anyway.

        Quite why this person is targetting SVM/TB I don’t know. Maybe because the way the show was, we have more M rated fics? I also don’t get why they’re targetting accounts that haven’t been active for years. (One of them was set up for a contest.)

        I think the best thing to do is just ignore them, frankly.

  18. glamouredbyyou says:

    Turning down PM – LOL. Stupid little NAZI. I think everything is said already, but thanks for the links of stories with MA content, which I didn’t read til now. 😉

  19. Laurie says:

    Ok, I just think you gals ROCK!
    They have filters if you are just looking, but to have a list of stories. Just jellious they are! I started reading on Friday.net and found all of you so I’m a happy girl, (adult over 30) luv you all keep up the great writing.

  20. redjane12 says:

    Thanks ficlit for alerting us… So, beyond whether ff.net allows MA or not, my main problem with this is the negativity and witch hunt that one person starts (though using several IDs) just because, I guess they have nothing better to do? What’s wrong with live and let live? Surely she can stop reading the smut if it bothers her that much or leave a comment objecting?

    Anyhow…. This person appears to be user ‘Libby Putney’ whose two fav authors are NO MA ALLOWED and and MA NOT ALLOWED (presumably her other aliases to denounce stories from different IDs which I am guessing may trigger deletion by FF?) so I have PM-ed her since these two are now not accepting PMs

    https://www.fanfiction.net/u/2933603/

    I tried to stay polite to make the point in a civilised manner since my argument is that we can argue rather than shut each other’s opinions up (or stories) so being aggressive sort of validates her own aggressive stance…

    Subject: Let’s be tolerant

    I am sincerely puzzled that you would spend time creating several identities to harass writers pretending to be an ‘authority’ of what content should be on this website (or any website) or not? Why not use your time to do something more constructive than attacking writers for what they write? If someone is reading the content, obviously it is of interest to them and if it is rubbish, nobody will read it so why not just let us readers decide rather than try and censor writers simply because you find their content unacceptable? After all it is just your opinion. Deleting content from ff.net is as bad as burning books. We can all disagree thanks to living in societies where tolerance is practised but trying to silence others never helped anyone in the long term. History has taught us that in many situations.
    I do not like all stories and some writing I may find objectable which leads me to a)stop reading and/or b)leave a comment stating my objections but I would never dream of commandeer some sort of judging position to attempt to limit the freedom of speech of other individuals.
    I hope you will reconsider your stance and stop the harassment of writers who generously share their stories for free with many happy readers such as myself. There are better things to do in life than being destructive.
    RJ

  21. Because she is targeting you and our svm/tb community do you think there is any chance its that person who was plagiarizing you? When I first read this that immediately came to mind. Its been about a year. She probably thinks we all forgot about her and now she is trying to get revenge. Maybe that’s way out in left field but still a possibility?

    • ficlit78 says:

      Yeah, I thought about that too. It’s certainly possible. This strikes me as more of someone who thinks they have the moral highground and wants to rid the world of filth. Then again, that would be the perfect cover. Who knows? The point is, let’s all hope it comes to nothing. 🙂

  22. Magpie says:

    I think, given what this person has done now, that they are after attention any way they can get it.

    So: Don’t feed the troll.

  23. […] some of you know thanks to Ficlit78’s last post our fandom has a new […]

Leave a Reply

